Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Picking up a 1975 2002 on Monday

Posted by JUMPNYC 
January 13, 2010 07:06PM
Anyone have any experience with these? Tips on what i need to do right away besides oil change?

I will post up pics next week.

Heres what I know so far, it has a blown automatic transmission (I have a replacement here to swap in asap),
20,000miles on a rebuilt engine with a new weber carb on it. Shock towers were redone recently, there is rocker panel rust on both sides I am going to replace those.

Besides this little project my E30 is running well, took it down to Miami from NY right before thanksgiving without a hiccup.

Hope all is well with everyone and wishing them a belated happy new year!
January 14, 2010 06:15AM
Cool! Can't wait to see the pics. I've always loved the 2002. They're like the grandfather to our E30s. I have no experience to offer, though, as I have sadly never had one. I just know that like most cars from that era, they are susceptible to rust, so be very wary about anything that looks like rust.

Someday I would still like to find one to play with, preferably rust-free one and with a manual tranny. But prices on these things aren't going down any more!

January 14, 2010 05:44PM
JUMPNYC

I will post up pics next week.

How about this week? Or now?

Yes, I'm impatient tongue sticking out smiley

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1989 - E30 - M20 - Manual. Approximately 270,000 miles
2000 - E46 - M52TUB28 - Manual. Approximately 110,000 miles
January 14, 2010 07:02PM
[i212.photobucket.com]

heres a pic of my E30 in Jacksonville when I stopped for a Whataburger. I will take pics of the 2002 next week, sorry for making you wait guys!
January 14, 2010 08:40PM
JUMPNYC
[i212.photobucket.com]

heres a pic of my E30 in Jacksonville when I stopped for a Whataburger. I will take pics of the 2002 next week, sorry for making you wait guys!

You're such a tease smiling smiley