Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

So, here's the plan

Posted by rkj 
rkj
January 09, 2010 11:28AM
Janet keeps mentioning she would like to see the states (and Canada) in a camper smiling smiley. After drooling and wishing for quite a few years over every other rig we see, I think (think would be the big word here) we have decided on a camper of choice. It was not an easy choice but lately we have been doing a fair amount of tripping on the motorcycle and I think she is starting to see the beauty in traveling light!

Anyway, right now we are both leaning toward a VW euro van, late 90's or so. I think (doing a lot of thinking but will go further soon) It would be easy on gas and be fun to drive and have just enough room for a spartan camper if we choose to sleep in it and cook light meals, it would need a portable poty thingy but I'm a cleaver builder that, I'm sure, could make a nifty little set-up. I plan to have a canvas tarp thing I could snap in place off one of the doors to make a shady spot for out doors.

My question is this, has anybody had, or know anyone who has one of these eurovans, are they a good unit, something worth setting up and then setting out in/on? (I'm thinking of pulling a very small light trailer too, with a small light bike, an option not cast in stone)

Thanks, and Regards, Rick
January 09, 2010 05:42PM
As romantic as the notion of camping in a van/motorhome is, I can't help but wonder if it isn't more convenient to use a regular car and then check into a motel at night for a hot shower and a good night's sleep? At least you don't have to fool around with unloading the honey tank every night........

alan
rkj
January 09, 2010 05:55PM
alanrw