Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Help

Posted by rkj 
rkj
August 23, 2011 06:20PM
So, my 87 325 auto blew another guibo, a few weeks after it was replaced. The thing I don't know is if the auto box guibo have direction arrows like the stick cars have. I have a feeling my guy might have missed this.

Anybody?
August 23, 2011 06:53PM
rkj
So, my 87 325 auto blew another guibo, a few weeks after it was replaced. The thing I don't know is if the auto box guibo have direction arrows like the stick cars have. I have a feeling my guy might have missed this.

Anybody?

I have no direct experience to go on but if the manuals is directional then so too should the auto be.

Chances are that it was put in backwards...unless Janet has been taking it up to redline then throwing it into drive sad smiley
rkj
August 23, 2011 07:34PM
Archeo-peteriX
rkj

Anybody?

I have no direct experience to go on but if the manuals is directional then so too should the auto be.

Chances are that it was put in backwards...unless Janet has been taking it up to redline then throwing it into drive sad smiley

That's what I thought too, I couldn't see one and not the other.... but that arrow is, I forget now, direction of the bolts or something? but even if it was installed backwards I wonder what effect that would have on it getting tore up in a few miles.

Janet?, around here, we call her the wrecker!
August 23, 2011 09:38PM
I have no experience here but general physics, but I can't imagine a guibo installed backwards would fail in a matter of weeks. There is no reason it should do that. My thinking would be that it's experiencing increased stress. I'm sure someone would have noticed a bad transmission mount or center driveline support bearing? that would be my guess for quick guibo failure.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1989 - E30 - M20 - Manual. Approximately 270,000 miles