Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

might be the new owner of '87 325is! What am I getting into?

Posted by land sea air 
Hello all, I am looking very seriously at purchasing a 1987 325is that I found on Craigslist locally. This is would be my first BMW as I have had Mercedes Benz in the past. I am a fairly confident DIY mechanic and have been able to keep up with the MB maintenance no problem. As I am not familiar with some of the normal concerns for the E30 I figured it would post here BEFORE I buy for sure. Here are some of the things that I noticed in 2 test drives.

the car has 230,000 miles on the clock but seems to be in excellent condition, original paint is in great shape. The only rust I noticed is in a small corner of one of the tail lights. (more on that later) The gentleman selling it has owned the car for 17 years and is the second owner, he has extensive documentation for the work done all of which has been done at the same garage that I know of. Overall I'm not to concerned about the high mileage since there hasn't been any abuse and it's well maintained.

the good: the computer, guages and warning system including the dreaded SI board all appear to be working fine.
Climate control works except for ac, sunroof works (has one of those clear deflectors that I will probably remove.) stereo works but the two door tweeters don't, are there other speakers besides those and the rear deck? Engine starts good and pulls strongly, he says it burns a small amount of oil which I'm not too concerned about, I haven't had a chance to check for driveway spots yet. It DID blow some smoke at near full/full throttle. Gear change is solid with minimal slop, clutch take up is different than what I'm used to but it feels good.