Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

What should I know about an '87 wrecked parts car?

Posted by Earendil 
So a guy I know wrecked his 1987 325is coupe last spring.
My car is a 1989 325i 4 door.

There are some really obvious "gotchas" when it comes to incompatible parts. Doors are different, bumpers are different, tail lights are different. Any number of things that on quick inspect prove to be incompatible.

So I have a few questions:
1. What parts if any look compatible, but really aren't? We're talking the difference between an 87 and an 89, as well as 'is' vs 'i'.

2. With front end damage, what are some parts that you wouldn't think would be damaged, but usually are? I have no experience with wrecked cars, or what gets damaged in the event.

Right now I'm sort of looking at the following parts:
Seats (sport)
speakers (front)
afm
icv
tps
fuel pump
entire exhaust system

Thoughts? Any tips from experience (or something you heard once from some guy) would be greatly appreciated!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1989 - E30 - M20 - Manual. Approximately 270,000 miles
2000 - E46 - M52TUB28 - Manual. Approximately 110,000 miles
I realized I could get a break down of the entire car from you guys, and that's not really waht I'm looking for :-)
Basically, if I can't pull it in 30 minutes, I'm not looking to buy it (except for the exhaust). If it's not in the engine compartment, or on the inside of the car, I'm not looking to buy it.

I took a few pictures. I'll post them for the fun of it smiling smiley
I'm going to check the car over later, but I found at least 4 wasp nests as big as my fist, all located around where I might like to put my hand.

I'm sure I'll come up with a few more things, but I didn't so much as dare sit in the car until I can rid myself of a few wasps...

[w3.gorge.net]

[w3.gorge.net]

[w3.gorge.net]

[w3.gorge.net]