Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Hacking the E30 Instrument Cluster for Computers?

Posted by Earendil 
I'll make this post really short.

I'm a soon to be graduate in Computer Science.
I am not an Electrical Engineer.
Due to youth, I have more ambitions than I know what to do with, or could ever archive.
I'm about to replace my IS, and so will have a spare one to play around with.

If I knew how to get input from the instrument cluster (or the ECU) into a computer port, I could write a program to track and graph all observable data over a period of time, and save said data.

Anyone know of such a project?
Anyone one ever thought to themselves that they could create a hardware interface for our simple little wired cluster, but didn't have the programming knowledge to put it to use?
Obviously, hacking our cluster up is possible to some degree
[www.youtube.com]

I know this isn't an extreme car modification forum, but I love you guys, and thought I'd ask here first :-)

Cheers,
~Tyler

ps
10 minutes on google hasn't turned up much of anything useful
pss
Hopefully this still seems like a good idea when I haven't had a couple beers...
i know zero about what you are wanting to do, but...

how about talking to the guy who did this? he is the owner of R3Vlimited.com. pretty nice guy.

[jalopnik.com]

videos
<embed id="VideoPlayback" src="[video.google.com]; style="width:400px;height:326px" allowFullScreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" type="application/x-shockwave-flash"> </embed>
<embed id="VideoPlayback" src="[video.google.com]; style="width:400px;height:326px" allowFullScreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" type="application/x-shockwave-flash"> </embed>

here is a thread, i dont know how much he goes into the technical stuff though.
[r3vlimited.com];

Earendil
<snip>