Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

How Brake Master Cylinder works

Posted by Ninh Huu Chan 
February 18, 2009 01:51PM
Dear friends,

I couldn’t open old page of BEN, but I see here many famous names, so I believe that you are the right people I have contacted. I studied in Slovakia with the name Jan Novy
My previous E30 was 325i - 12/1988, present is 320i – 10/1988 (by VIN its could be 325i). Compare with previous the present is weaker and fuel consumption is more better.
I have now problem with brake.
Firstly very bad brakes, I have changes seals of Brake Master Cylinder, now front wheels are OK, but rear brakes do not work. Brake fruit does not get to rear.
I see at the end of smaller piston of Brake Master Cylinder there is very small Valve, its seem one way valve, open when release brake pedal to normal position and close when brake.
My question is how this valve works and what happen on my car could cause by this valve.
Thanks a lot

Chan.
sdp
February 18, 2009 01:59PM
Maybe this can help you get started...

[auto.howstuffworks.com]
February 18, 2009 03:33PM
That was a great article explaining brake systems. I am no expert by any means but with a rebuilt MC you should be able to get juice to the rear calipers. There could be a big air bubble in the brake lines. What happens when you bleed the rear calipers? I would think that with the bleeder valve open you would get fluid to come out unless the line has a blockage in it. Brake lines can corrode over time, especially if the brake fluid is not changed regularly or if the car has sat for a while. Hope you get it figured out!
rkj
February 18, 2009 04:13PM
Ninh Huu Chan
Dear friends,

I couldn’t open old page of BEN, but I see here many famous names, so I believe that you are the right people I have contacted. I studied in Slovakia with the name Jan Novy